en English
0 0,00

Se connecter

À propos d'Ancestre

Pourquoi Ancestre
Découvrez pourquoi vous devriez nous choisir…

Achetez Ancestral maintenant
Obtenez maintenant notre test avec la meilleure remise

Acheter Ancesrum avec des données brutes
Avez-vous déjà un fichier de données brutes ?

l

Enregistrez votre trousse
Si vous avez déjà fait votre test, cliquez ici

i

Instructions
Vous trouverez ici les étapes simples pour obtenir votre rapport

Contact
Contactez-nous pour toute question que vous pourriez avoir

Notre test

Ascendance géographique
Tout votre passé sur une carte…

Ascendance ethnique. Ancêtre.

Ascendance ethnique
Quelle ethnie prédomine dans votre ADN ?

Ascendance historique. Ancêtre.

Ascendance historique
Les origines les plus probables de vos ancêtres

Haplogroupe maternel. Ancêtre.

Haplogroupe maternel
Mutations de l'ADN mitochondrial

Haplogroupe paternel. Ancêtre.

Haplogroupe paternel
Mutations de l'ADN du chromosome Y

Correspondance ADN de célébrité. Ancêtre.

Correspondance ADN de célébrité
Découvrez des personnages avec lesquels vous partagez une lignée

Ascendance néandertalienne. Ancêtre.

ADN de Néandertal
Contraste ADN avec les sites archéologiques

Test d'ascendance. 7 produits en un.

UNE FENÊTRE SUR VOTRE PASSÉ

Ancestrum vous propose 7 produits de test d'ascendance génétique différents, réunis dans un seul rapport. Notre Test d'ascendance est la plus complète parmi toutes les marques du marché.

99,00

J'ai déjà
un fichier de données brutes ?

J'ai déjà
un fichier de données brutes ?

Test d'ascendance génétique d'ascendance

Un kit, un prix

Sept épreuves

7IN
ONE

Ascendance géographique - 3

Portée

Ascendance ethnique - 6

Ethnique

Ascendance historique. Ancêtre.

Historique

Ascendance historique. Ancêtre.

Maternel

Ascendance historique. Ancêtre.

Parentale

Ascendance historique. Ancêtre.

Célébrité

Ascendance historique. Ancêtre.

Néandertal

Test d'ascendance géographique

Notre test d'ascendance géographique analyse votre ADN et, au moyen d'une étude comparative complexe, nous remontons en moyenne 800 ans, ce qui correspond à près de 30 générations, et nous vous disons dans quelles régions géographiques vos ancêtres ont été installés, sur la base d'un courant contexte géographique.

Correspondance ADN de célébrité

Faites notre test d'ascendance et découvrez avec quelles personnes importantes de l'histoire vous êtes susceptible de partager une lignée paternelle ou maternelle, en comparant les haplogroupes de toutes les célébrités de notre base de données et en comparant les vôtres.

Test d'ascendance ethnique

Tout n'est pas une question de géographie. Vous pouvez maintenant découvrir vos origines sous un angle différent. L'ascendance ethnique offre une vision plus large d'une approche anthropologique et sociale et vous permet de découvrir à quels groupes ethniques vous êtes le plus étroitement lié en fonction de vos origines historiques. Ancestrum a des détails sur plus de 300 ethnies dans le monde.

Haplogroupe maternel

Sur la base d'une méthodologie d'haplogroupe, nous analysons votre chromosome mitochondrial, qui est hérité exclusivement des mères à leurs fils et filles, et le comparons avec la base de données contenant tous les haplogroupes connus.

Grâce à notre test d'ascendance génétique, vous aurez une carte de l'évolution de votre lignée maternelle jusqu'au premier haplogroupe mitochondrial enregistré, connu sous le nom d'"Eve mitochondriale".

Haplogroupe paternel

Semblable à l'ascendance maternelle, grâce à une méthodologie de comparaison avec la base de données de tous les haplogroupes connus, nous analysons le chromosome Y, qui ne se produit que chez les hommes et est hérité exclusivement des pères aux fils, afin que nous puissions retracer la lignée paternelle historique jusqu'à l'"Adam chromosomique Y", le premier haplogroupe connu du chromosome Y.

* Cette section n'est disponible que pour le sexe masculin.

Test d'ascendance historique

Remontons beaucoup plus loin dans le temps. Du Moyen Âge au Paléolithique supérieur, il y a plus de 12,000 XNUMX ans.

Au test d'ascendance Ancestrum, nous comparons votre ADN avec celui d'un grand nombre d'échantillons génétiques de vestiges archéologiques pour pouvoir vous indiquer les zones géographiques auxquelles vos ancêtres sont liés, tout au long de 8 étapes historiques majeures.

Test d'ascendance néandertalienne

En comparant votre ADN dans notre test d'ascendance génétique avec celui d'échantillons obtenus sur des sites archéologiques, nous pouvons déduire quel pourcentage vous partagez avec l'homme de Néandertal, l'une des espèces les plus proches de l'homme moderne, avec qui vous avez coexisté pendant plus de 40,000 30,000 ans, et qui a disparu il y a plus de XNUMX XNUMX ans.

Comment cela fonctionne ? 

Téléchargez un exemple de notre rapport

Test d'ascendance image 01
Test d'ascendance image 02
Test d'ascendance image 03
Test d'ascendance image 04
Test d'ascendance image 05

Questions fréquemment posées

1. Comment l'ADN est-il organisé dans les cellules et comment est-il hérité ?

L'ensemble de l'ADN d'un organisme s'appelle le génome. Plus précisément, le génome humain est organisé en 23 paires de chromosomes nucléaires, constitués de faisceaux de molécules d'ADN et contenant environ 20,000 23 gènes humains. Parmi ces 22 paires, on trouve 1 paires de chromosomes autosomiques et XNUMX paire de chromosomes sexuels.

Parmi les premiers, nous héritons de 22 chromosomes de notre père et de 22 autres de notre mère.
Dans le cas du couple sexuel, on trouve les chromosomes X et Y, avec les combinaisons XX et XY, chez les femelles et les mâles biologiques, bien qu'il puisse y avoir quelques exceptions dans le nombre et la structure des chromosomes sexuels.

Le chromosome Y n'est présent que chez les mâles et ne sera hérité paternellement que par la progéniture mâle. D'autre part, le génome mitochondrial, qui est hérité maternellement exclusivement aux fils et filles. N'hésitez pas à contacter notre société de test d'ascendance si vous avez besoin de plus d'informations.

2. Qu'est-ce qu'un marqueur génétique ?

Un marqueur génétique est une caractéristique génétique identifiable qui permet de détecter et d'étudier les variations du génome. Il existe plusieurs types de marqueurs génétiques, qui sont utilisés à des fins différentes.

Les variations génétiques, l'un de ces types de marqueurs génétiques, sont des changements qui se produisent dans le génome des individus et peuvent avoir un impact sur certaines caractéristiques biologiques. Ce sont ces variations qui définissent les individus et les groupes de population en tant que tels, nous permettant de les comparer génétiquement et de réaliser une multitude d'analyses, parmi lesquelles on peut retrouver l'étude de votre ascendance génétique.

3. Comment les régions géographiques sont-elles réparties dans le rapport Ancesrum ? Existe-t-il des informations plus détaillées sur certaines régions que sur d'autres ?

La base de données de référence que nous utilisons pour nos tests d'ascendance génétique comprend un nombre infini d'échantillons de personnes dont les ancêtres ont vécu dans une région particulière pendant des générations, ils ont donc un haut niveau de représentativité et de fiabilité. Ces échantillons détaillent un large éventail de régions, couvrant la géographie du monde à travers l'histoire, et reflètent la diversité génétique qui existe en leur sein.

Bien que nous couvrons la grande majorité de la planète, le niveau de détail régional n'est pas exactement le même dans toutes les régions du monde. Cependant, notre équipe procède à de multiples vérifications et ajustements afin de donner un résultat équilibré et de qualité. Il y a aussi certaines régions spécifiques qui ne sont pas encore incluses dans la référence, mais nous travaillons en permanence pour la compléter autant que possible afin d'offrir un meilleur résultat.

En plus de cela, il est important de noter que l'histoire démographique peut être très différente selon les populations, et leur mélange avec d'autres groupes de population peut avoir été plus ou moins important. Les régions qui ont eu moins de mélange sont plus faciles à définir génétiquement que celles qui sont le résultat de mélanges génétiques plus complexes au fil du temps entre différentes populations.

4. Les personnes d'ethnies différentes diffèrent-elles considérablement dans leurs génomes ? Dans quelle mesure les génomes de personnes d'ethnies différentes peuvent-ils être similaires ?

Les différences génétiques qui peuvent exister entre différents groupes ethniques ou groupes de population seront liées à l'histoire démographique de chacun de ces groupes ethniques.

Si leur origine est commune, s'ils se sont séparés il y a longtemps ou récemment, s'ils se sont beaucoup mélangés et ont gardé des contacts, s'ils ont été isolés, etc., sont des facteurs qui influent sur la variabilité génétique entre groupes ethniques. Dans les populations humaines, il existe généralement une relation très directe avec la distance géographique.

Plus la distance entre les populations est grande, plus la différenciation génétique est grande, et vice versa. Dans tous les cas, il est important de garder à l'esprit que les différences dont nous parlons ne résident généralement que sur environ 0.1 % du génome.

5. Qu'est-ce qu'une mitochondrie ?

Les cellules humaines appartiennent au groupe des cellules dites eucaryotes. Cela signifie qu'ils possèdent, entre autres, des structures internes spécialisées dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions biologiques, telles que la digestion, le stockage des nutriments, etc.

Ces structures sont appelées organites, et parmi elles on retrouve les mitochondries, qui sont spécialisées dans la réalisation de la respiration cellulaire afin de fournir aux cellules l'énergie nécessaire à leur bon fonctionnement.

Les mitochondries ont leur propre molécule d'ADN et sont héritées de la progéniture de la mère. Par conséquent, pour définir votre haplogroupe maternel, nous étudions votre ADN mitochondrial.

6. Qu'est-ce que le chromosome Y ?

Le chromosome Y, avec le chromosome X, constitue ce que l'on appelle les chromosomes sexuels, car ils déterminent le développement sexuel. D'un point de vue génétique, selon qu'une personne a une dotation chromosomique XX ou XY, elle sera respectivement une femme ou un homme.

Dans la paire de chromosomes sexuels que nous avons, un chromosome vient de notre père et l'autre de notre mère. Étant donné que les hommes et les femmes ont un chromosome X, chez les femmes, un chromosome X proviendra du père et l'autre de la mère. Dans le cas du chromosome Y, seuls les hommes le possèdent, donc le chromosome Y n'est transmis que des pères aux fils, et le chromosome X viendra de la mère.

Par conséquent, pour définir votre haplogroupe paternel, notre test d'ascendance effectue l'étude de l'ADN du chromosome Y, afin que, à partir de ses informations génétiques, il puisse retracer les origines liées à votre lignée paternelle.

7. L'ADN mitochondrial est-il considéré comme un chromosome ?

Oui, mais il a une structure différente des 23 paires de chromosomes nucléaires du génome humain, dont la structure est un brin d'ADN linéaire en double hélice. Dans le cas de l'ADN mitochondrial, il s'agit d'une molécule d'ADN circulaire à double hélice.

8. Comment mon haplogroupe est-il déterminé ?

Un haplogroupe est un ensemble de mutations du génome situées dans les chromosomes uniparentaux, qui sont ceux qui ne sont hérités que d'un seul parent à la progéniture : le chromosome mitochondrial et le chromosome Y.

Au cours de l'évolution humaine, une multitude de mutations se sont produites dans l'ADN de ces chromosomes, qui ont été progressivement transmises à la descendance jusqu'à nos jours. Chaque fois qu'un nouvel ensemble de mutations se produit dans un haplogroupe existant, un nouvel haplogroupe est créé. De cette façon, la communauté scientifique, basée sur une multitude d'études au cours des dernières décennies, a pu déterminer comment et où les haplogroupes existant aujourd'hui sont issus d'autres haplogroupes antérieurs, pouvant ainsi établir une relation évolutive entre eux. .

Ainsi, pour déterminer votre haplogroupe, nous comparons les mutations que nous détectons dans votre ADN mitochondrial ou votre chromosome Y, et nous procédons à leur comparaison avec une base de données dans laquelle nous collectons les haplogroupes possibles qui existent et l'ensemble des mutations qui les définissent, afin pour vérifier ceux que nous détectons. Quoi qu'il en soit, vous obtiendrez plus d'informations à ce sujet dans le test d'ascendance.

9. Pourquoi les femmes n'ont-elles pas la catégorie Haplogroupe paternel dans le rapport ?

La raison est purement biologique, liée au patrimoine génétique. Les femelles ont une dotation chromosomique sexuelle XX, tandis que les mâles sont XY. Cela signifie que seuls les hommes biologiques ont un chromosome Y dans leur génome, hérité au cours des générations précédentes par la lignée paternelle. Ainsi, les femmes n'hériteront jamais de ce chromosome Y, il n'est donc pas possible d'effectuer l'analyse de leur haplogroupe paternel.

10. Parmi les célébrités du test d'ascendance Ancestral, y a-t-il des célébrités actuelles ?

Oui, dans notre base de données de célébrités, nous collectons des centaines de célébrités, parmi lesquelles nous incluons des célébrités historiques et actuelles pertinentes. Nous travaillons continuellement pour augmenter notre référence et offrir une plus grande variété.

11. Qu'est-ce que cela implique d'avoir un pourcentage plus élevé de Néandertal, et cela se reflète-t-il dans un trait ?

Le pourcentage de Néandertalien présent dans le génome humain est le résultat de différents événements de mélange qui ont eu lieu entre les Néandertaliens et les humains modernes au cours des quelque 40,000 XNUMX ans de coexistence.

Votre pourcentage d'ADN de Néandertal et vos traits ne sont pas directement liés, ni n'évoquent que votre ADN est plus ou moins ancestral, simplement que vos ancêtres ont été plus ou moins mélangés avec les Néandertaliens et, par conséquent, que le pourcentage d'ADN en commun avec L'homme de Néandertal s'est maintenu dans vos ancêtres au fil du temps et vous a plus ou moins atteint.

Cependant, il existe des études qui relient certaines variantes génétiques au mélange qui a eu lieu entre les Néandertaliens et les humains, et que certaines d'entre elles ont pu se maintenir chez l'homme jusqu'à nos jours.

Cependant, toutes les variantes impliquées ne sont pas liées à une fonctionnalité ou à un trait de l'organisme. Pour le moment, notre test d'ascendance ne donne pas d'informations précises à leur sujet et il ne propose que des informations sur le pourcentage global de votre ADN néandertalien.

Dernières nouvelles sur notre blog

Découvrez le pourcentage d'ADN de Néandertal

L'un des faits les plus surprenants que vous puissiez découvrir dans un rapport ancestral est le pourcentage d'ADN de Néandertal présent dans vos gènes. En 1856, les premiers restes fossiles d'un homme de Néandertal ont été découverts dans la vallée de Neander (Allemagne). Depuis, la morphologie et...

Un aperçu des résultats de nos tests d'ascendance

Nous sommes nombreux à connaître l'histoire de notre famille grâce aux histoires que nous ont racontées nos grands-parents, nos parents et d'autres ancêtres proches. Mais qu'y a-t-il au-delà de ces cent ou deux cents dernières années ? Si vous êtes curieux de creuser dans votre histoire familiale la plus lointaine mais que vous avez des doutes sur quoi...

Combien de temps dure un test ADN d'ascendance ?

Les tests génétiques fournissent des informations précieuses sur l'ascendance en comparant différents aspects de l'humanité, tels que l'implantation géographique, les différentes ethnies ou même l'ADN de Néandertal avec votre échantillon d'ADN. Cela peut sembler un long processus, car il est très complet...

    0
    Panier
    Votre panier est videRetourner à la maison
      Calculer Frais de port
      Appliquer Coupon

en English
0 0,00

Login

About Ancestrum

Why Ancestrum
Find out why you should choose us…

Buy Ancestrum now
Get now our test with the best discount

Buy Ancestrum with Raw Data
Do you already have a raw data file?

l

Register your kit
If you have already made your test, clic here

i

Instructions
Here you will find the simple steps to get your report

Contact
Contact us for any questions you may have

Our test

Geographic Ancestry
All your past on a map…

Ethnic Ancestry. Ancestrum.

Ethnic Ancestry
Which ethnicity is predominant in your DNA?

Historic Ancestry. Ancestrum.

Historic Ancestry
The most probable origins of your ancestors

Maternal Haplogroup. Ancestrum.

Maternal Haplogroup
Mitochondrial DNA mutations

Paternal Haplogroup. Ancestrum.

Paternal Haplogroup
Y-chromosome DNA mutations

Celebrity DNA Matching. Ancestrum.

Celebrity DNA Matching
Discover characters with whom you share lineage

Neanderthal Ancestry. Ancestrum.

Neanderthal DNA
DNA contrast with archaeological sites

Ancestry test. 7 products in one.

A WINDOW TO YOUR PAST

Ancestrum offers you 7 different genetic ancestry test products, united in a single report. Our Ancestry test is the most complete among all the brands on the market.

99,00

Already have
a raw data file?

Already have
a raw data file?

Ancestrum genetic ancestry test

One kit, one price

Seven tests

7IN
ONE

Geographic ancestry – 3

Geographic

Ethnic Ancestry – 6

Ethnic

Historic Ancestry. Ancestrum.

Historic

Historic Ancestry. Ancestrum.

Maternal

Historic Ancestry. Ancestrum.

Paternal

Historic Ancestry. Ancestrum.

Celebrity

Historic Ancestry. Ancestrum.

Neanderthal

Geographic Ancestry Test

Our geographic ancestry test analyses your DNA and, by means of a complex comparative study, we go back an average of 800 years, which corresponds to almost 30 generations, and we tell you in which geographical regions your ancestors were settled, based on a current geographical context.

Celebrity DNA Matching

Take our ancestry test and find out with which important people in history you are likely to share paternal or maternal lineage, by comparing the haplogroups of all the celebrities in our database and comparing your own.

Ethnic Ancestry Test

It’s not all about geography. Now you can learn about your origins from a different perspective. Ethnic ancestry offers a broader view from an anthropological and social approach and allows you to discover which ethnic groups you are most closely related to according to your historical origins. Ancestrum has details of more than 300 ethnicities worldwide.

Maternal Haplogroup

Based on a haplogroup methodology, we analyse your mitochondrial chromosome, which is inherited exclusively from mothers to their sons and daughters, and compare it with the database containing all known haplogroups.

Thanks to our genetic ancestry test you’ll have a map of the evolution of your maternal lineage back to the first recorded mitochondrial haplogroup, known as “mitochondrial Eve”.

Paternal Haplogroup

Similar to maternal ancestry, through a methodology of comparison with the database of all known haplogroups, we analyse the Y-chromosome, which occurs only in males and is inherited exclusively from fathers to sons, so that we can trace the historical paternal lineage back to the “Y-chromosomal Adam”, the first known Y-chromosome haplogroup.

* This section is only available for the male sex.

Historic Ancestry Test

Let us go much further back in time. From the Middle Ages to the Upper Palaeolithic, more than 12,000 years ago.

At Ancestrum ancestry test we compare your DNA with that of a large number of genetic samples from archaeological remains to be able to tell you the geographical areas to which your ancestors are related, throughout 8 major historical stages.

Neanderthal Ancestry Test

By comparing your DNA in our genetic ancestry test with that of samples obtained from archaeological sites, we can infer what percentage you share with Neanderthal man, one of the closest species to modern humans, with whom you coexisted for more than 40,000 years, and who became extinct more than 30,000 years ago.

How does it work?

Download a sample of our report

Ancestry test image 01
Ancestry test image 02
Ancestry test image 03
Ancestry test image 04
Ancestry test image 05

Frequently Asked Questions

1. How is DNA organized in cells and how is it inherited?

The whole of an organism’s DNA is known as the genome. Specifically, the human genome is organized into 23 pairs of nuclear chromosomes, which consist of bundles of DNA molecules and contain about 20,000 human genes. Among these 23 pairs, we find 22 pairs of autosomal chromosomes and 1 pair of sex chromosomes.

Of the former, we inherit 22 chromosomes from our father and another 22 from our mother.
In the case of the sex pair, we find the X and Y chromosomes, with the combinations XX and XY, in biological females and males, although there may be some exceptions in the number and structure of the sex chromosomes.

The Y chromosome is only present in males, and will only be inherited paternally to male offspring. On the other hand, the mitochondrial genome, which is maternally inherited exclusively to sons and daughters. Do not hesitate to contact our ancestry test company if you need more information.

2. What is a genetic marker?

A genetic marker is an identifiable genetic characteristic that allows us to detect and study variations in the genome. There are multiple types of genetic markers, which are used for different purposes.

Genetic variations, one of these types of genetic marker, are changes that occur in the genome of individuals, and can have an impact on some biological characteristic. These variations are what define individuals and population groups as such, allowing us to compare them genetically and carry out a multitude of analyses, among which we can find the study of your genetic ancestry.

3. How are the geographic regions distributed in the Ancestrum report? Is there more detailed information on some regions than others?

The reference database we use for our genetic ancestry tests includes an infinite number of samples from people whose ancestors have lived in a particular region for generations, so they have a high level of representativeness and reliability. These samples detail a broad set of regions, spanning the world’s geography throughout history, and reflect the genetic diversity that exists within them.

Although we cover the vast majority of the planet, the level of regional detail is not exactly the same in all areas of the world. However, our team performs multiple checks and adjustments in order to give a balanced and quality result. There are also some specific regions that are not yet included in the reference, but we are continuously working to complete it as much as possible in order to offer a better result.

In addition to this, it is important to note that the demographic history can be very different depending on the populations, and their mix with other population groups may have been greater or lesser. Those regions that have had less admixture are easier to define genetically than those that are the result of more complex genetic admixtures over time between different populations.

4. Do people of different ethnicities differ greatly in their genomes? How similar can the genomes of people of different ethnicities be?

The genetic differences that may exist between different ethnic groups or population groups will be related to the demographic history of each of these ethnic groups.

If their origin is common, if they have separated long ago or recently, if they have mixed a lot and have maintained contact, if they have been isolated, etc., are factors that affect the genetic variability between ethnic groups. In human populations, there is generally a very direct relationship with geographic distance.

The greater the distance between populations, the greater the genetic differentiation, and vice versa. In any case, it is important to bear in mind that the differences we are talking about usually reside in only about 0.1% of the genome.

5. What is a mitochondria?

Human cells belong to the group of so-called eukaryotic cells. This means that, among other things, they have internal structures specialized in carrying out their biological functions, such as digestion, nutrient storage, etc.

These structures are called organelles, and among them we find the mitochondria, which are specialized in carrying out cellular respiration in order to provide the cells with the energy necessary for their proper functioning.

Mitochondria have their own DNA molecule, and are inherited to the offspring from the mother. Therefore, to define your maternal haplogroup we study your mitochondrial DNA.

6. What is the Y chromosome?

The Y chromosome, together with the X chromosome, make up what are known as the sex chromosomes, since they determine sexual development. From a genetic point of view, depending on whether a person has an XX or XY chromosomal endowment, he or she will be a woman or a man, respectively.

In the pair of sex chromosomes we have, one chromosome comes from our father and the other from our mother. Since both males and females have an X chromosome, in females one X chromosome will come from the father and the other from the mother. In the case of the Y chromosome, only males possess it, so the Y chromosome is transmitted only from fathers to sons, and the X chromosome will come from the mother.

Therefore, to define your paternal haplogroup our ancestry test carries out the study of the DNA of the Y chromosome, so that, from its genetic information, it can trace the origins related to your paternal lineage.

7. Is mitochondrial DNA considered a chromosome?

Yes, but it has a different structure than the 23 pairs of nuclear chromosomes in the human genome, whose structure is a linear double helix DNA strand. In the case of mitochondrial DNA, it consists of a circular double helix DNA molecule.

8. How is my haplogroup determined?

A haplogroup is a set of mutations in the genome located in uniparental chromosomes, which are those that are only inherited from a single parent to the offspring: the mitochondrial chromosome and the Y chromosome.

Throughout human evolution, a multitude of mutations have taken place in the DNA of these chromosomes, which have been progressively passed on to the offspring until the present day. Each time a new set of mutations occurs in an existing haplogroup, a new haplogroup is created. In this way, the scientific community, based on a multitude of studies over the last decades, has been able to determine how and where the haplogroups existing today have originated from other haplogroups prior in time, thus being able to establish an evolutionary relationship between them.

Thus, to determine your haplogroup we compare the mutations that we detect in your mitochondrial DNA or Y chromosome, and we proceed to compare them with a database in which we collect the possible haplogroups that exist and the set of mutations that define them, in order to check which ones we detect. Anyway, you will get more information about this in the ancestry test.

9. Why don't women have the Paternal Haplogroup category in the report?

The reason is purely biological, related to genetic inheritance. Females have an XX sex chromosomal endowment, while males are XY. This means that only biological men have a Y chromosome in their genome, inherited over the previous generations through the paternal line. Thus, females will never inherit this Y chromosome, so it is not possible to perform the analysis of their paternal haplogroup.

10. Among the celebrities in the Ancestrum ancestry test, are there any current celebrities?

Yes, in our database of celebrities we collect hundreds of celebrities, among which we include relevant historical and current celebrities. We are continuously working to increase our reference and to offer a wider variety.

11. What does it imply to have a higher percentage of Neanderthal, and is it reflected in any trait?

The percentage of Neanderthal present in the human genome is the result of different admixture events that took place between Neanderthals and modern humans over the approximately 40,000 years that they coexisted.

Your percentage of Neanderthal DNA and your traits are not directly related, nor do they evoke that your DNA is more or less ancestral, simply that your ancestors have had greater or lesser admixture with Neanderthals and, therefore, that the percentage of DNA in common with Neanderthals has been maintained in your ancestors over time and has reached you to a greater or lesser extent.

However, there are studies that relate certain genetic variants to the mixing that has taken place between Neanderthals and humans, and that some of them have been able to be maintained in humans up to the present day.

However, not all the variants involved are related to a functionality or trait in the organism. For the moment, our ancestry test does not give specific information about them and it only offers information about the global percentage of your Neanderthal DNA.

Latest news on our blog

Discover the percentage of Neanderthal DNA

One of the most surprising facts you can discover in an ancestral report is the percentage of Neanderthal DNA found in your genes. In 1856, the first fossil remains of a Neanderthal were discovered in the Neander Valley (Germany). Since then, the morphology and...

A sneak peek of our ancestry test results

Many of us know our family history through the stories that grandparents, parents and other close ancestors told us. But what's beyond those last hundred or two hundred years? If you are curious to dig into your most remote family history but have doubts about what...

How long does an ancestry DNA test take?

Genetic testing provides valuable ancestry information by comparing different aspects of humanity, such as geographical settlement, different ethnicities or even Neanderthal DNA with your DNA sample. It may seem like a long process, as it is very comprehensive...

    0
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to home
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon